Gambhir Dropped For Australia Tests

Gambhir Dropped For Australia Tests
Gambhir Dropped For Australia Tests
©REUTERS/Andrew Caballero-Reynolds. Picture Supplied by Action Images

India have named their Test squad for the first two matches of the upcoming series against Australia. The selectors have responded to the side’s poor recent form by dropping struggling opener Gautam Gambhir and replacing him with Shikhar Dhawan. Also excluded from the squad that played against England in the final Test in Nagpur are Piyush Chawla and Parvinder Awana.

Harbhajan Singh has again been recalled and replaces Chawla as the third spinning option behind R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar is rewarded for his impressive ODI form with a maiden Test call-up.

Dhawan beat off competition from Wasim Jaffer to replace Gambhir, who has been dropped after a prolonged run of poor form. Dhawan averages over 50 in this season’s Ranji Trophy and will hope to see off the challenge from Murali Vijay and Ajinkya Rahane to take his place alongside Sehwag at the top of the order.

The first Test against Australia begins on 22nd February in Chennai.

Squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, R Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Ashok Dinda. 

© Cricket World 2013




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.

Fixtures & Results

10th October: T20I, Rajkot
IND 202-4 beat AUS 201-7 by 6 wickets
13th October: 1st ODI, Pune
AUS 304-8 beat IND 232 by 72 runs
16th October: 2nd ODI, Jaipur
IND 362-1 beat AUS 359-5 by 9 wickets
19th October: 3rd ODI, Mohali
AUS 304-6 beat IND 303-9 by 4 wickets
23rd October: 4th ODI, Ranchi
AUS 295-8 v IND 27-0 - match abandoned, rain
26th October: 5th ODI, Cuttack
Match abandoned - waterlogged pitch
30th October: 6th ODI, Nagpur
IND 351-4 beat AUS 350-5 by 6 wickets