Friday 8 March 2013 

Gayle, Samuels, Shillingford Back For Zimbabwe Test

Gayle, Samuels, Shillingford Back For Zimbabwe Test
Gayle, Samuels, Shillingford Back For Zimbabwe Test
© WICB Media

West Indies have named a 13-man squad for the first Test against Zimbabwe, which gets underway on Tuesday (12th March) at the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

Opening batsman Chris Gayle returns to the squad having been rested for the Twenty20 and One-Day International series, while Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine are among those who miss out.

Test specialist batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul is included, as is Marlon Samuels, who hit 260 in West Indies' last Test outing against Bangladesh, but was not selected for the series wins over Zimbabwe earlier in the tour in both the Twenty20 and ODI format.

From the team that played in that match, Fidel Edwards is also absent and fast bowler Shannon Gabriel and off-spinner Shane Shillingford are added to the squad.

Edwards had been added to the squad in Bangladesh as a replacement for Kemar Roach, who has now returned to full fitness and is back in contention for a starting place.

The other players who toured Bangladesh who are not retained are Kirk Edwards, Asad Fudadin and Ravi Rampaul.

The second Test begins on 20th March in Dominica.

West Indies Test squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Denesh Ramdin (vice-captain), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Veerasammy Permaul, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Shane Shillingford

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.