Hussey Guides Australia To Series Win

Hussey Guides Australia To Series Win
Hussey Guides Australia To Series Win
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia 227-7 (Watson 49, Hussey 45no) beat
South Africa 222-6 (Kallis 54) by three wickets
Third One-Day International, Durban

Michael Hussey's unbeaten 45 guided Australia to a three-wicket win in the decisive third and final One-Day International against South Africa in Durban.

The left-hander helped the tourists overhaul a target of 223 and clinched the series by hitting Morne Morkel for a six over midwicket.

Half-centuries from Jacques Kallis and Hashim Amla had earlier enabled the Proteas to reach 222 for six but it took Australia 47.3 overs on a slow but bouncy track to take victory.

The tourists made a flying start thanks to Shane Watson's powerful 49 in in 46 balls before a series of batsmen made starts but were unable to go on.

Michael Clarke (26) and Shaun Marsh (30) were both bowled by JP Duminy as the South Africa kept themselves in the match by taking wickets but despite Brad Haddin (23) and Mitchell Johnson (6) also falling cheaply in the closing stages, Hussey held his nerve, facing 64 balls in all and hitting just one four prior to the winning hit.

Patrick Cummins was unbeaten on six when the winning runs were scored as South Africa, for whom Kallis also took a brace of wickets, were denied.

Kallis bowled Watson and had Johnson caught by Mark Boucher but after an impressive batting effort earlier, he was unable to cap an impressive all-round display with a win.

His 54 came from 74 balls while Amla played fluently for his 52 in 72 deliveries before he was run out and Kallis was caught by Marsh off Xavier Doherty, who had already dismissed Graeme Smith, caught by Hussey in the deep for 19.

Duminy (35), Francois du Plessis (21) and David Miller (11 not out) chipped in with useful contributions but Australia kept a lid on the scoring and took wickets, Johnson and Doherty taking two apiece.

The two sides now begin preparations for a two-Test series which begins in Cape Town on 9th November.

© Cricket World 2011