ICC Hands Ponting Reprimand For Damaging TV
Australia captain Ricky Ponting has been given a reprimand by the International Cricket Council (ICC) after he breached the ICC Code of Conduct during his side's 91-run Cricket World Cup win over Zimbabwe.
Following his dismissal, when he was run out for 28, Ponting accidentally damaged a television screen when he threw a piece of his equipment towards his bag.
He accepted the Level 1 charge, which was levelled against him by match referee Roshan Mahanama for breaching clause 2.1.2 of the code which relates to "abuse of cricket equipment, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during an international match".
Mahanama said: "Ricky knows that his action was in breach of the code, involving a brief moment of frustration. That said, it was clear that the damage he caused was purely accidental and without malice, he apologized shortly after the incident at the ground and immediately agreed to pay for the damage."
© Cricket World 2011