ICC WT20: England Keep Faith With World Cup Winners

ICC WT20: England Keep Faith With World Cup Winners
England Keep Faith In World Cup Winners
©Action Images / Henry Browne Livepic

The 14 women who took England to World Cup glory in March will join forces again when they compete in the inaugural Women's ICC World Twenty20 in June.

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced that the squad which beat New Zealand by five wickets would also compete in the eight-team tournament.

England play group matches against India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka at Taunton before the semi-finals and final, played on the same day as the men's competition, take place at Trent Bridge, The Oval and Lord's.

Charlotte Edwards will continue to lead the side.

"This tournament gives a real chance for women's cricket to attract millions of new followers and players across the world," she said.

"We enjoyed our World Cup success but now everyone is firmly focussed on this event and the prospect of appearing on the same stage as the men at the semi final and , hopefully, final stage."

England Women: Charlotte Edwards (captain), Caroline Atkins, Katherine Brunt, Holly Colvin, Isa Guha, Jenny Gunn, Lydia Greenway, Laura Marsh, Beth Morgan, Nicki Shaw, Anya Shrubsole, Ebony Rainford-Brent, Claire Taylor, Sarah Taylor

© Cricket World 2009