ICC WT20: South Africa Extend Winning Run

ICC WT20: South Africa Extend Winning Run
ICC WT20: South Africa Extend Winning Run
©REUTERS/Philip Brown (BRITAIN SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

South Africa 130-5 (de Villiers 63, Smith 26) beat
India 118-8 (Sharma 29, Botha 3-16) by 12 runs

ICC World Twenty20 Group E, Trent Bridge
By John Pennington

South Africa extended their impressive unbeaten run to finish the Super Eight stage of the ICC World Twenty20 with a perfect record by downing reigning champions India by 12 runs at Trent Bridge.

In a match where spin bowling dominated, an innings of 63 from AB de Villiers set South Africa up as they reached 130 for five before they restricted India to 118 for eight.

Dhoni used eight bowlers, at one point using seven bowlers in as many overs and it took the spin to first break a useful partnership between Graeme Smith (26) and de Villiers and then tie the South Africans down.

De Villiers hit seven fours and there were no sixes as Ravi Jadeja, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Rohit Sharma and Suresh Raina all turned their arm over, de Villiers eventually falling when he was caught and bowled by Jadeja, who bowled his three overs to return one for nine.

India started brilliantly, openers Rohit Sharma (29) and Gautam Gambhir (21) putting on 48 before the spinners put the brakes on and quickly India were 69 for five and under massive pressure.

Johan Botha bowled superbly well to return three for 16, Roelof van der Merwe grabbed the wicket of Yusuf Pathan for a two-ball duck and JP Duminy's one over yielded the wicket of Sharma.

India's last hope, Yuvraj Singh, hit the only six of the match before he edged Dale Steyn to wicket-keeper Mark Boucher and with his dismissal, which had followed a farcical run out of captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, India's chances of salvaging some pride with a win disappeared.

South Africa's victory set up a semi-final with Pakistan on Thursday at Trent Bridge, which means that Sri Lanka play the West Indies on Friday at The Oval. The final is on Sunday at Lord's.

© Cricket World 2009