India Down Reigning Champions By Eight Wickets

India celebrate the wicket of Chris Gayle
India celebrate the wicket of Chris Gayle en route to their win against the West Indies
©REUTERS / Action Images

India 130-3 (Sharma 62no) beat
West Indies 129-7 (Jadeja 3-48) by 8 wickets
ICC World Twenty20 2014 Group 2, Mirpur

In the second game on 'Super Sunday' at the ICC World Twenty20 2014, India recorded an easy win over reigning champions the West Indies by eight wickets.

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma shared a 106-run partnership for the second wicket to help their side to 130 for three in 19.4 overs.

This came after the Indian bowlers had restricted the defending champions to a paltry 129 for seven in their allotted 20 overs.

The chase was delayed by 10 minutes as there was some confusion on whether the target was 130 or 131. It was eventually found out that the former indeed was the total India needed, and they set off.

Shikhar Dhawan (0) though seemed put off by the delay, and if not, he must have been by the umpire’s decision as he was adjudged LBW in the first over bowled by Samuel Badree (1-28).

Thereafter, Kohli and Sharma came together and did not offer a single change to the West Indies until they had nearly finished the job. Not once did they look in any sort of trouble in the middle as they successfully raised a century-stand partnership, whilst maintaining a healthy run-rate all along.

The Indian half-century had come up in 38 balls, in the seventh over, while the 100-run mark came up in the 13th over.

At the same time, Kohli completed his fifth T20I half-century off 34 balls. He was eventually out in the 15th over, bowled by Andre Russell (1-12). He scored 54 runs off 41 balls, with five fours and one four. Meanwhile, Sharma too reached his fifty, off 44 balls, his sixth in T20Is.

The game was inexplicably slowed down at that stage by the Indian batsmen, and with just one run to get, Yuvraj Singh (10) was caught off Sunil Narine (1-22). But the winning run did come later that over, with Suresh Raina (1 not out) doing the needful.

Rohit Sharma was unbeaten on 62 runs, off 55 balls, with five fours and two sixes.

Earlier, India won the toss and elected to field first. Bhuvneshwar Kumar gave the 2007 champions a rollicking start with an opening spell of 3-0-3-0.

At the other end, Mohammd Shami (0-27) also bowled a tight line, but wickets didn’t come despite this economical bowling as the fielders dropped quite a few catches.

Chris Gayle was the main batsman to benefit as he was dropped twice, once on nought by Ravichandran Ashwin (1-24) and then on 19 by Yuvraj. Even so, he didn’t quite latch on to his two lives.

Both he and Dwayne Smith (11) couldn’t get going and put up 38 slow runs in nearly eight overs.

Marlon Samuels walked in next, in hope of upping the ante, but the Indian spinners were unrelenting in their tight lines. The West Indies' fifty came only in the 11th over and thereafter the batsmen had no option but to go for big hits. That resulted in regular wickets and no momentum.

Gayle was the first to go, run out in the 13th over, after scoring an uncharacteristic 34 runs off 33 balls, with one four and two sixes. Two overs later, Samuels was stumped off Amit Mishra (2-18), who also trapped Dwayne Bravo (0) LBW from the very first ball he faced.

Even Darren Sammy couldn’t do much, holing out for just 11 runs.

The only big hitting came from Lendl Simmons, who hit 27 runs off 22 balls, with one four and two sixes, as he was especially severe on Ravindra Jadeja (3-48).

But they finished with a below-par score and everyone knew it.

In the next Group Two game, West Indies next take on Bangladesh on Tuesday.

© Cricket World 2014