IPL 2012: Rajasthan Thrash Kings XI By 43 Runs

IPL 2012: Rajasthan Thrash Kings XI By 43 Runs
IPL 2012: Rajasthan Thrash Kings XI By 43 Runs
©REUTERS / Action Images

Rajasthan Royals 177-6 (Dravid 46) beat
Kings XI Punjab 134-8 (Tait 2-18) by 43 runs
Indian Premier League 2012, Mohali

Rajasthan Royals roared back into Indian Premier League 2012 contention with a big 43-run win over Kings XI Punjab at Mohali.

The convincing victory puts them in fifth position in the table, equal on ten points with Kings XI and just two points behind third-placed Mumbai Indians.

Rajasthan won the toss and elected to bat first. For once Ajinkya Rahane failed, out for just five runs. Rahul Dravid though got together with Shane Watson and they put on 69 runs for the second wicket.

Watson was second out in the eighth over, after scoring 36 runs off 17 balls. He hit four fours and two sixes, showcasing the firepower he has brought to this team. Dravid carried on, this time with Ashok Menaria, adding another 41 runs for the third wicket.

Dravid top scored with 46 runs off 39 balls, with eight fours, and he was out in the 14th over. The score at that stage read 117 for three.

Menaria, who made 34 off 27 balls with one fours and two sixes, was out soon after. At the end of 16th over, Rajasthan were placed at 133 for four. From there on, Brad Hodge and Johan Botha gave them a final push, putting on 43 runs in 3.4 overs. Hodge made 36 off 23 balls (two fours and two sixes) as the Royals notched up 177 for six.

Kings XI Punjab's chase was boosted once again by Shaun Marsh but wickets started falling at the other end in constant intervals from the very beginning.

Mandeep Singh, Nitin Saini and David Hussey were all out cheaply as the innings faltered at 59 for four. Marsh was the fourth wicket down in the ninth over.

Azhar Mahmood and Gurkeerat Singh then put up some resistance but by then Rajasthan were on a roll. They put on 35 runs for the fifth wicket but that was not enough to salvage anything for Kings XI.

Shaun Tait, Watson and Botha all took two wickets each.

© Cricket World 2012