IPL 2012: Vijay Century Puts Chennai Into The Final

IPL 2012: Vijay Century Puts Chennai Into The Final
IPL 2012: Vijay Century Puts Chennai Into The Final
©REUTERS / Action Images

Chennai Super Kings 222-5 (Vijay 113) beat
Delhi Daredevils 136 (Ashwin 3-23) by 86 runs
Indian Premier League 2012 Qualifier 2, Chennai

Chennai Super Kings maintained their remarkable Indian Premier League record by advancing to their fourth final in five attempts, beating Delhi Daredevils by 86 runs in the second qualifier in front of their own fans.

Their convincing victory was set up by Murali Vijay's brilliant 113 in 58 balls and although Mahela Jayawardene hit 55 for the Daredevils, no other batsmen could produce an innings of substance and in reply to 222 for five, they were dismissed for just 136.

Vijay hammered 15 fours and four sixes as he posted his second IPL century, making it to three figures in 51 balls and he was well supported by Dwayne Bravo (33 not out in 12 balls), Suresh Raina (27 in 17), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (23 in 10) and Michael Hussey (20).

Varun Aaron returned figures of two for 63 while Umesh Yadav and Pawan Negi grabbed a wicket apiece.

Regardless of your target, losing two wickets inside four overs will always hamper your cause but when those two wickets are David Warner (3) and Virender Sehwag (1) and you are chasing 223 to win, it is even worse.

Among the carnage, Jayawardene was magnificent, hitting 55 in 38 balls and he formed partnerships with Ross Taylor (24 in 14) and Andre Russell (16 in 11) to keep Delhi's slim hopes alive.

However, after Taylor and Russell were dismissed by Dwayne Bravo and Ravichandran Ashwin respectively, Jayawardene was bowled by Ashwin attempting a reverse sweep, and the game was effectively over.

The rest of the batting then subsided dramatically, Delhi losing seven wickets for 30 runs to be bowled out inside 17 overs.

Ashwin took three for 23 and Shadab Jakati two for 40 as Chennai pulled off the biggest win in terms of runs of the tournament so far. Their own run of wins has been timed to perfection.

They play Kolkata Knight Riders in Sunday's final.

© Cricket World 2012