IPL 2013: Bangalore Win Super Over Thriller

IPL 2013: Bangalore Win Super Over Thriller
IPL 2013: Bangalore Win Super Over Thriller
©WICB Media

Royal Challengers Bangalore 152-7 beat
Delhi Daredevils 152-5 via a Super Over
Indian Premier League 2013, Bangalore
Report by John Pennington

An extraordinary Indian Premier League 2013 match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils was only decided in the former's favour from the final ball of the tournament's second Super Over.

Chasing 153 for victory, Bangalore lost five wickets for nine runs before managing to level the scores and then defended 15 to win the Super Over when Ravi Rampaul bowled Irfan Pathan with Delhi needing five to win.

This was Bangalore's second one-over eliminator of the tournament, and their first win, and the defeat was Delhi's fifth on the bounce and they remain rooted to the foot of the table searching for their first points.

First, the Super Over. Umesh Yadav looked to have done a super job in limiting Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers to three runs in the first four balls but then two full balls were hammered into the stands by de Villiers to set Delhi a target of 16 - which they had to make to win given they had scored fewer sixes in the game.

David Warner then chopped the first ball straight to Gayle at point but Pathan, with a four and then a wonderful six over deep backward square, kept Delhi in the game. After a single, it was left to Ben Rohrer to hit another maximum but the only thing that was hit was the base of his off stump.

It had been a similarly frantic end to the game itself, as Bangalore looked to be cruising at 129 for two with Virat Kohli (65) and de Villiers (39) looking in supreme touch but led by Yadav (2-22), Delhi hit back and but for wicket-keeper Kedhar Jadhav failing to take the final ball cleanly, they might have won.

Kohli struck seven fours and a six in his 50-ball innings and de Villiers, quickly finding his feet after missing the opening two games, faced 32 deliveries before things started to unravel for Bangalore, following de Villiers' run out by compatriot Morne Morkel.

Arun Karthik was also run out as he tried to keep Kohli on strike, Andrew McDonald was caught and bowled by Shahbaz Nadeem, Syed Mohammed was caught in the deep by Warner and then Kohli fell, drilling Yadav to Mahela Jayawardene.

Rampaul stepped up and boomed a huge six as well as scrambling the singles with Ranganath Vinay Kumar to take the game to the eliminator.

Delhi had earlier seen all seven batsmen who made it to the middle reach double figures but Jadhav top scored with 29 not out in 16 balls as Jaidev Unadkat emerged with the best figures of two for 24. Vinay Kumar and McDonald took a wicket apiece.

Contributions of 28 from Jayawardene, 25 from Virender Sehwag and 19 not out from Pathan in eight balls very nearly gave them a winning score, but it wasn't to be.

Nevertheless, they are coming closer to victory each time they lose.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


IPL 2013 - Podcasts

IPL 2013 - Squads
IPL TV - IPL Video