IPL 2013: Bisla, Morgan Clinch Vital Win For Kolkata

IPL 2013: Bisla, Morgan Clinch Vital Win For Kolkata
IPL 2013: Bisla, Morgan Clinch Vital Win For Kolkata
©REUTERS / Action Images

Kolkata Knight Riders 150-4 (Bisla 51no) beat
Kings XI Punjab 149-6 by six wickets
Indian Premier League 2013, Kolkata

Reigning champions Kolkata Knight Riders won their first Indian Premier League 2013 match in four as Manvinder Bisla anchored a six-wicket victory over Kings XI Punjab.

Bisla was unbeaten on 51 as they overhauled Kings XI's score of 149 for six with 10 balls to spare, hauling themselves up to within two points of their defeated opponents with eight matches played.

Bisla, one of Kolkata's heroes in their successful 2012 campaign, has had a quiet tournament and this half-century, just his second double-figure score of the season, came from 44 balls, inclusive of three fours and three sixes.

He lost opening partner Gautam Gambhir for eight and Yusuf Pathan, moved to number three, fell for a golden duck as Azhar Mahmood grabbed two wickets in two balls.

Jacques Kallis, who had earlier taken two wickets, then made 37 in 33 balls and Eoin Morgan a fine 42 in 26 to take Kolkata to the brink of victory, both men helped by being dropped.

Morgan took advantage to hit Mahmood for two huge sixes and although he eventually fell to the same bowler, the damage by then was done.

Mahmood finished with figures of three for 35 and Harmeet Singh one for 24.

Earlier, Kings XI had seen several players make useful contributions but badly needed somebody to do as Bisla, or Morgan, had done, to put the game beyond Kolkata.

Adam Gilchrist made 27 in as many balls at the top of the order while Mandeep Singh hit 25 in 20. Manan Vohra struck 31 in 21, David Hussey 21 in 20 and Gurkeerat Singh a decent 28 not out in 15 deliveries at the death.

A failure for David Miller, who has been central to Kings XI's recent revival, cost them dear, as after hitting one six he fell for just 10, bowled by Sarabjit Singh.

Man-of-the-match Kallis removed Mandeep and Hussey while Lakshmipathy Balaji and Rajat Bhatia also grabbed a wicket apiece.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


IPL 2013 - Podcasts

IPL 2013 - Squads
IPL TV - IPL Video