Ireland Name Young Squad To Face Namibia

Ireland Name Young Squad To Face Namibia
Ireland Name Young Squad To Face Namibia
©REUTERS/Vivek Prakash. Picture Supplied by Action Images

Ireland have named five uncapped players in their ICC Intercontinental Cup squad to take on Namibia while they have also named their squad to play Namibia, Scotland and Sri Lanka in One-Day Internationals.

Chris Dougherty, Graeme McCarter, Stuart Poynter, Stuart Thompson and Niall McDonnell are the uncapped players while Trent Johnston will captain the side in the absence of William Porterfield.

Porterfield returns to captain the ODI side with 12 of the 15 World Cup squad members involved. Ed Joyce misses out due to personal reasons, while Albert van der Merwe is still recovering from an elbow injury.

Porterfield's county colleagues Niall O'Brien, KeviN O'Brien, Gary Wilson, Boyd Rankin and Paul Stirling all feature in the ODI squad although missing is former New Zealand international Hamish Marshall, who had decided to qualify for Ireland ahead of the World Cup.

However, Cricket Ireland chief executive Warren Deutrom explained his omission, saying, "Although Hamish has declared for Ireland, he has at the same time become technically qualified for England.

"Irrespective of his International playing preference, his nominal England qualification releases significant payment to Gloucestershire CCC from the ECB and playing for Ireland in the upcoming matches would jeopardise these payments, which would be unreasonable on Gloucestershire within a budgetary cycle.

"Since Cricket Ireland, for a similar budgetary reason, is unable to compensate Gloucestershire for their financial loss, Hamish’s ability to play for Ireland in the short-term will remain under review.

"We shall remain in consultation with Hamish, Gloucestershire CCC and ECB over the coming weeks to determine how best to resolve the matter."

Ireland ICC Intercontinental Cup squad: Trent Johnston (captain), Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Chris Dougherty, John Mooney, Graeme McCarter, Niall McDonnell, Kevin O'Brien, Andrew Poynter, Stuart Poynter, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Andrew White

Ireland ODI squad: William Porterfield (captain), Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Trent Johnston, Nigel Jones, John Mooney, Graeme McCarter, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Andrew Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Andrew White, Gary Wilson

Niall O'Brien will miss the ODI against Scotland on 12th July while Gary Wilson will miss the ODI against Namibia on 4th July due to county commitments.

© Cricket World 2011