Israel Produce Performance Of The Tournament

	Israel Produce Performance Of The Tournament
Israel Produce Performance Of The Tournament
©ICC / CricketEurope

Israel produced another fine performance to go clear at the top of the Group A table.

Spain’s top order all contributed to a reasonably challenging total of 142 for six, James Morgan top-scoring with 37. Armaghan Khan chipped in with 33, Christopher Muñoz-Mills made 24, and Tanvir Iqbal 23.

Herschel Gutman and Danny Hyman then gave Israel a great start with an opening partnership of 60 before Armaghan Khan dismissed Hyman for 42. Gutman and John Evans put on another 63 for the third wicket. Tanvir Iqbal briefly raised Spanish hopes by trapping Evans (34 from 24 balls) and Gabi Schachat with successive deliveries, but Gutman was still there, and he and Danny Hotz saw their side home with seven balls to spare.

Gutman finished with a run-a-ball 43 not out, while Tanvir Iqbal and Armaghan Khan both took two for 21 for Spain.

Estonia recorded their second comprehensive victory of the day as they defeated Malta by 56 runs at Messonghi.  With Malta's middle order failing they were never in with a realistic chance of chasing down Estonia's total of 184 for three wickets.

Having won the toss, Estonia batted first and their openers put on 42 before Karel van Buuren was caught by Nowell Khosla.  His partner Nand Lal Riar was already producing some aggressive hitting and went on to strike seven sixes in an innings of 71 from 46 balls faced.  When he was out with the score on 105, Tim Filer then took over the striking role and cleared the ropes four times in an unbeaten knock of 68 from just 36 balls.

Malta began their innings intending to go after the bowling but they had lost both openers by the end of the fourth over.  Although Ronnie Sacco, Frankie Spiteri and Derek Ali all got into double figures none was able to go on to make the big score that was necessary.  Wickets fell at regular intervals against a disciplined Estonian bowling attack which shared the wickets.

Brief scores:

At Ropa 1: Croatia 86-7, 20 overs (Michael Grzinich 34; van den Berg 3-13)
Isle of Man 87-4, 16.4 overs
Isle of Man won by 6 wickets                                                       

At Ropa 1: Sweden 125, 18.2 overs (Niroshan Pelawattha 3-22, Nimal Durayalage 3-26)
Cyprus 128-3, 16.4 overs (Tahir Mohsin 49, Gurbhej Singh 41 not out)
Cyprus won by 7 wickets

At Ropa 2: Finland 136, 19.5 overs (Ekhpelwak Kuchey 73; Khalid Ahmad 5-21; Azam Khalil 3-28)
Sweden 137-4, 17. 3overs
Sweden won by 6 wickets

At Ropa 2: Croatia 129-5, 20 overs (John Vujnovich 50, Nikola Davidovic 47)
Hellas 130-0, 17.4 overs (Aslam Mohammad 36 not out, A Manousis 71 not out)
Hellas won by 10 wickets

At Marina: Estonia 167-5, 20 overs (Tim Heath 52 not out, Tim Filer 49; Taral Desai 3-20)
Luxembourg 108-9, 20 overs (Richard Neale 38; Tim Heath 3-12, Murali Obli 3-16)
Estonia won by 59 runs

At Marina: Spain 142-6, 20 overs (Jim Morgan 37)
Israel 143-4, 18.5 overs (Herschel Gutman 43 not out, Danny Hyman 42)
Israel won by 6 wickets

At Messonghi: Israel 118-5, 14 overs (Eshkol Soloman 40)
Portugal 101-5, 14 overs (Tariq Aziz; Josh Evans 3-24)
Israel won by 17 runs

At Messonghi: Estonia 184-3, 20 overs (Nand Lal Riar 71, Tim Filer 68 not out)
Malta 128, 18.4 overs
Estonia won by 56 runs