Jadeja, Jayawardene, Vinay Kumar Seal Big-Money IPL Deals

Jadeja, Jayawardene, Vinay Kumar Seal Big-Money IPL Deals
Jadeja, Jayawardene, Vinay Kumar Seal Big-Money IPL Deals
©REUTERS / Action Images

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja will play for reigning champions the Chennai Super Kings in the 2012 Indian Premier League after he was snapped up for $US 2 million at auction in Bangalore.

Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene was the next highest buy, at $US 1.4 million, to the Delhi Daredevils after both players were without a club following the expulsion of the Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

Just 25 players from the original list of 144 were snapped up as teams finalised their squads ahead of the fifth edition of the competition.

Jadeja's was Chennai's only purchase - as the teams had a purse of $US 2 million - while the Daredevils also moved for New Zealand's Doug Bracewell ($US 50,000) and West Indian all-rounder Andre Russell ($US450,000).

New Zealand wicket-keeper Brendon McCullum sealed a return to the Kolkata Knight Riders - for whom he smashed 158 on the first day of the IPL back in 2008 - for $US 900,000 and the Knight Riders also added West Indian spinner Sunil Narine (700,000) and South African pacer Marchant de Lange ($US 50,000).

The Royal Challengers Bangalore will become Sri Lankan spinner Muttiah Muralitharan's third franchise after they bought him for $US 220,000 as the high profile former Tuskers players were subjects of fierce bidding wars.

2009 and 2011 runners-up Bangalore also added Ranganath Vinay Kumar ($US 1 million) to their roster - the international quick bowler returning to his home side.

2009 champions Deccan Chargers swooped for stylish West Indian batsman Darren Bravo ($US 100,000), Indian wicket-keeper Parthiv Patel ($US 650,000) and Australian Daniel Harris ($US 70,000).

2010 runners-up Mumbai Indians moved for South African opener Herschelle Gibbs, who cost them $US 50,000, Australian quick bowler Mitchell Johnson, who set them back $US 300,000, Indian seamer RP Singh for $US 600,000, South African spinner Robin Peterson for $US 100,000 and Sri Lankan all-rounder Tissara Perera for $US 650,000.

Also buying five players were 2008 champions Rajasthan Royals. They paid $US 50,000 for Sri Lankan Dinesh Chandimal, $US 400,000 for Indian quick bowler Sreesanth, $US 180,000 for recently out-of-retirement Australian spinner Brad Hogg, $US 50,000 for West Indian all-rounder Kevon Cooper and $US 475,000 for Australian Brad Hodge.

Kings XI Punjab bought Ramesh Powar for $US 160,000 to seal a return for the Indian bowler, Australian all-rounder James Faulkner was snapped up for $US 190,000 and former Pakistan international Azhar Mahmood was bought for $US 200,000.

Pune Warriors were the only franchise opting not to purchase any players at the auction.

The competition gets underway on 4th April.

© Cricket World 2012