James Faulkner left out of Champions Trophy squad for Australia

James Faulkner will miss the Champions Trophy for Australia
James Faulkner will miss the Champions Trophy for Australia

Australian selectors have left out all-rounder James Faulkner from the One-Day International squad for the Champions Trophy tournament to be played in England and Wales in June.

The 26-year-old, who won the man of the match award in the 2015 World Cup final where Australia defeated New Zealand picked four wickets from two games in the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy and also followed it with a successful Twenty20 International series against Sri Lanka as well where he picked five wickets from three matches.

However, the selectors have gone with Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell and Moises Henriques has the preferred choices for all-rounders over Faulkner.

Stoinis grabbed the attention with his performance against New Zealand where he scored an unbeaten 146 and also picked a three-wicket haul in Auckland while Maxwell's performances in the Test series against India and in the ongoing Indian Premier League has gone in favour of him.

Meanwhile, Henriques last played an ODI in August 2016 but has been a consistent performer this season in the Sheffield Shield, Big Bash League and also in the ongoing edition of Indian Premier League where he slammed back-to-back fifties.

Also making comebacks into the squad are fast bowlers John Hastings and James Pattinson after recovering from their respective injuries.

Hastings was the second leading wicket-taker for Australia in ODIs last year behind Adam Zampa but had to go through a lengthy rehabilitation period while Pattinson has been impressive for Nottinghamshire and Victoria on his return.

Chris Lynn and Mitchell Starc also managed to find a place in the squad despite sidelined with a shoulder and a foot injury respectively.

Australia squad: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

© Cricket World 2017