Kallis Scores Half-Century Before Second Test Is Drawn

Kallis Scores Half-Century Before Second Test Is Drawn
Kallis Scores Half-Century Before Second Test Is Drawn
©REUTERS / Action Images

South Africa 543-6 dec. (de Villiers 135no) & 235-3 (Kallis 62no) drew with
West Indies 546 (Chanderpaul 166, Nash 114)
Second Test, Saint Kitts

The second Test between the West Indies and South Africa was drawn when the two sets of players shook hands after tea on the final day with the tourists on 235 for three in their second innings.

After all but 11 overs of the first four days was taken up with South Africa declaring on 543 for six and the West Indies subsequently being bowled out for 546, there was almost no chance of a result heading into the final day.

With the pitch at Warner Park still being good for batting, South Africa were untroubled on the last day as Jacques Kallis registered his 53rd Test half-century to add to his first-innings century.

He was unbeaten on 62 in 128 balls and AB de Villiers, who also scored a century in the first innings, made a patient unbeaten 31 in 130 balls as South Africa ensured that they will be heading to Barbados, the venue for the third Test, 1-0 up in the series and in an unassailable position.

The men to fall on the final day were Graeme Smith (46), Alviro Petersen (39) and Hashim Amla (41) as they all made starts but couldn't go on.

Smith was caught by wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin and Amla was caught by substitute Darren Sammy - both men falling to off-spinner Shane Shillingford while Petersen was bowled by Dwayne Bravo.

South Africa won the openign Test in Trinidad by 163 runs and this match saw five centurions in all - Kallis (110), de Villiers (135 not out) and Smith (132) for South Africa and then Shivnarine Chanderpaul (166) and Brendan Nash (114) in the West Indies' reply.

Kallis also passed 11,000 Test runs earlier in the match - the first on the tour that South Africa didn't win after sealing 2-0 and 5-0 clean sweeps in the Twenty20 and One-Day International contests.

© Cricket World 2010