Kenya Name 15-Man World Cup Squad

Kenya Name 15-Man World Cup Squad
Kenya Name 15-Man World Cup Squad
©REUTERS/Rogan Ward (SOUTH AFRICA). Picture supplied by Action Images

Kenya have named their final 15-man squad for the World Cup, which gets underway on 19th February with them placed in Group A alongside Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

Kenya have just completed a series of five matches against state teams in India, losing all five games although Jimmy Kamande is set to continue as captain.

"We have had to make some very tough calls and there are some players that have been unlucky to miss out but we firmly believe this is the best squad to go to the World Cup and perform well," coach Eldine Baptiste said.

"We have had a very tough tour to India where results and performances have been poor but it is now up to the players to learn from the experience, work hard in the remaining weeks before the World Cup and show the determination and desire to ensure when we return to India they are better players for that experience.

"These 15 players have a huge responsibility to do their country proud and put Kenyan cricket back on the map by performing to their full potential."

Kenya's campaign begins on 20th February when they play New Zealand in Chennai.

Kenya World Cup squad: Jimmy Kamande (captain), Tanmay Mishra, James Ngoche, Shem Ngoche, Alex Obanda, Collins Obuya, David Obuya, Nehemiah Odhiambo, Thomas Odoyo, Peter Ongondo, Elijah Otieno, Morris Ouma, Rakep Patel, Steve Tikolo, Seren Waters

© Cricket World 2011

YouTube Button