Kenya Stick With Winning Squad For World Cup

Kenya have named the same 15-man squad for next month's trip to the Caribbean that won the World Cricket League last week, crushing Scotland in the final by eight wickets on home soil in Nairobi. Cricket Kenya chief executive Tom Tikolo said the players would leave for the West Indies on March 1. The team face England, New Zealand and Canada in Group C. They have omitted three stalwarts from the previous three World Cups when they picked their 15-man squad for next month's tournament in the Caribbean. Wicketkeeper/opening batsman Kennedy Otieno, middle order batsman Hitesh Modi and paceman Martin Suji were left out when Cricket Kenya announced its squad on Tuesday. The trio featured in the famous World Cup win over West Indies in India in 1996, one of the biggest victories in Kenya's history. Suji is battling with a serious knee injury while Otieno and Modi missed a training camp last month without explanation. Coach Roger Harper said at the time that their absences would cost the pair their World Cup places. Kenya squad: Steve Tikolo (captain), Thomas Odoyo (vice-captain), Ravindu Shah, Tanmay Mishra, Collins Obuya, Peter Ongondo, Nehemiah Odhiambo, Maurice Ouma, Malhar Patel, Hiren Varaiya, David Obuya (wicketkeeper), Rajesh Bhudia, Jimmy Kamande, Tony Suji, Lameck Onyango. © Reuters 2007