Lancashire Squads Announced For Season Openers

Lancashire County Cricket Club has selected a squad of 12 to face Warwickshire in the first County Championship match of the season which starts tomorrow at Edgbaston (18-21 April). Just two places separated Lancashire (2nd) and Warwickshire (4th) at the end of the 2006 season, so this promises to be a tough start to the new campaign for both Clubs. Paul Horton has been rewarded for his impressive pre-season form, being named as Lancashire’s Number 5 for the opening match. Lancashire’s 2nd XI also start their Championship campaign tomorrow against Derbyshire at The County Ground in Derby. Both squads are announced in alphabetical order with shirt numbers in brackets. The starting XI’s will be announced on the morning of the first day. First XI v Warwickshire: Chapple, Chilton (c), Cork, Hogg, Horton, Keedy, Law, Loye, Newby, Smith, Sutcliffe, Sutton (wk) Second XI v Derbyshire: Ashling, Brown, Cheetham, Croft, Cross, Dhar, Marshall, Mullaney, Parry, Simpson, Tripathi, Yates.
Official Lancashire CCC Website