Llong Replaces Doctrove On Elite Umpires Panel

Llong Replaces Doctrove On Elite Umpires Panel
Llong Replaces Doctrove On Elite Umpires Panel
©REUTERS / Action Images

England's Nigel Llong has been named as Billy Doctrove's replacement on the International Cricket Council's (ICC) Elite Panel of Umpires for the 2012-13 season.

Doctrove confirmed his retirement earlier this month and Llong joins compatriots Ian Gould and Richard Kettleborough on the panel.

The 12 officials on the Elite Panel will be joined by Australian Bruce Oxenford for the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka later this year, where Ranjan Madugalle, Jeff Crowe and Graeme La Brooy will act as match referees.

Llong, 43, made his international umpiring debut in the first Twenty20 International to be held in England when Australia visited in 2005, standing in his first ODI in 2006 and then his first Test in 2008.

He has already umpired in 12 Tests, 55 ODIs and 16 T20Is since being appointed to the Panel of International Umpires in 2002.

Llong represented Kent from 1990 to 1998 in 68 first-class matches.

ICC Emirates Elite Panel 2012-13: Steve Davis, Simon Taufel, Rod Tucker (Australia), Ian Gould, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong (England), Billy Bowden, Tony Hill (New Zealand), Aleem Dar, Asad Rauf (Pakistan), Marais Erasmus (South Africa), Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


Cricket World Twitter