LV= County Championship Round Two Preview

LV= County Championship Round Two Preview
LV= County Championship Round Two Preview
©Action Images / Andrew Couldridge Livepic

The first round of LV= County Championship matches was interrupted by the early-spring rain, but still provided some interesting talking points - most notably Middlesex’s easier-than-expected win over Nottinghamshire at Trent Bridge. Round two should be even better as the weather improves and Graeme Smith leads Surrey out for the first time against Somerset. Cricket World previews all of the second round matches.

Second round fixtures: (all matches start at 1100 BST, 1000 GMT)
Division One:
Middlesex v Derbyshire at Lord’s
Derbyshire’s Division One baptism of fire continues as they follow up last week’s trip to county champions Warwickshire, with one to Lord’s to face in-form Middlesex. Middlesex have named a settled squad, with Steven Finn’s inclusion at the expense of the injured James Harris the only change. Harris is rested as a precaution after suffering a minor hamstring injury during the win over Nottinghamshire and would likely have played had the hosts not had such a good replacement available in the form of England bowler Finn.

Middlesex squad: Chris Rogers (captain), Sam Robson, Joe Denly, Dawid Malan, Neil Dexter, John Simpson, Gareth Berg, Ollie Rayner, Toby Roland-Jones, Tim Murtagh, Steven Finn, Gurjit Sandhu.

Derbyshire have named an unchanged 13-man squad after skipper Wayne Madsen and opener Billy Godleman were passed fit after sustain minor injuries at Edgbaston. They may, however, opt to change their eleven, with David Wainwright a possibility to come in from Chesney Hughes. Seam-bowling all-rounder Jonathan Clare is also in the 13.

Derbyshire squad: Wayne Madsen (captain), Billy Godleman, Wes Durston, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ross Whiteley, Chesney Hughes, David Wainwright, Tom Poynton, Jonathan Clare, Tony Palladino, Tim Groenewald, Mark Turner.

Surrey v Somerset at The Oval
Surrey sat out the first round of Championship fixtures and have named a 13-man squad that coach Chris Adams called his “strongest yet” bristling with new signings. Graeme Smith will captain the side for the first time, while Gary Keedy and Vikram Solanki will both make their Surrey debuts after signing from Lancashire and Worcestershire over the winter.

Surrey squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Arun Harinath, Vikram Solanki, Rory Burns, Zander de Bruyn, Steven Davies, Gary Wilson, Gareth Batty, Stuart Meaker, Chris Tremlett, Tim Linley, Jade Dernbach, Gary Keedy.

Warwickshire v Durham at Edgbaston
The county champions are almost back to full strength as Keith Barker and Chris Woakes return from injury and rest respectively and replace Tom Milnes in a 12-man squad. Oliver Hannon-Dalby is the man most likely to miss out when the final eleven is named. Meanwhile, the club have announced that Boyd Rankin should be fully recovered from his foot injury in time to face Somerset next week.

Warwickshire squad: Jim Troughton (captain), Varun Chopra, Ian Westwood, William Porterfield, Laurie Evans, Tim Ambrose, Rikki Clarke, Chris Woakes, Keith Barker, Jeetan Patel, Chris Wright, Oliver Hannon-Dalby.

Durham are unchanged following their win against Somerset, with skipper Paul Collingwood hoping to make it seven wins out of eight since he took charge of the Championship side midway through last season.

Durham XI: Mark Stoneman, Keaton Jennings, Will Smith, Dale Benkenstein, Ben Stokes, Paul Collingwood (captain), Phil Mustard, Scott Borthwick, Callum Thorp, Graham Onions, Chris Rushworth.

Division Two:
Glamorgan v Worcestershire at Cardiff
The Welsh side had a disappointing time against Northamptonshire but emerged with a draw and have kept faith with the same 12 players that were on duty. Huw Waters is the man pushing for a place in the starting eleven, but is unlikely to play unless Glamorgan opt for an all-seam attack.

Glamorgan squad: Mark Wallace (captain), Ben Wright, Will Bragg, Stewart Walters, Marcus North, Murray Goodwin, Jim Allenby, Graham Wagg, Dean Cosker, Michael Hogan, Mike Reed, Huw Waters.

Worcestershire are also unchanged, with the squad now fully recovered from a stomach bug that demoted skipper Daryl Mitchell down the order in the first innings of the game against Lancashire. Richard Jones, who missed the previous match through injury, is a possibility to come into the side for Chris Russell, with spinner Shaaiq Choudhry also vying for inclusion in the final eleven.

Worcestershire squad: Daryl Mitchell (captain), Matthew Pardoe, Michael Johnson, Moeen Ali, Thilan Samaraweera, Alexei Kervezee, Neil Pinner, Gareth Andrew, David Lucas, Richard Jones, Chris Russell, Alan Richardson, Shaaiq Choudhry.

Leicestershire v Kent at Grace Road
The Foxes only escaped with a draw against Hampshire due to the weather and have added Alex Wyatt (shoulder) to their list of injury-hit seamers which includes Anthony Ireland (side strain) and Nathan Buck (ankle). Robbie Williams replaces Wyatt in the squad and will compete with all-rounder Rob Taylor for a place in the eleven. Greg Smith will hope to break into the batting line-up.

Leicestershire squad: Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain), Michael Thornely, Niall O’Brien, Ned Eckersley, Josh Cobb, Matthew Boyce, Shiv Thakor, Rob Taylor, Jigar Naik, Ollie Freckingham, Matthew Hoggard, Robbie Williams, Greg Smith.

Kent kick their Championship campaign off with a trip to Grace Road and have left out young batsman Daniel Bell-Drummond from their 12-man squad, despite him scoring a century against Cardiff MCCU last week. Also omitted from the 13 named then is Alex Blake, with Ashley Shaw replacing him in the squad that will travel to the east midlands.

Kent squad: James Tredwell (captain), Rob Key, Sam Northeast, Brendan Nash, Mike Powell, Darren Stevens, Geraint Jones, James Tredwell, Matt Coles, Calum Haggett, Mark Davies, Charlie Shreck, Ashley Shaw.

Continues on page two...