Monday 16 June 2008
MCC To Discuss Pietersen's Switch-Hitting
Right-hander Pietersen twice changed his grips and hit sixes off of Scott Styris as a conventional left-hander might have done, with some believing that by doing so he gains an unfair advantage.
Bowlers must notify the umpire if they want to change arm while fielders are not allowed to change position during a delivery.
"Tomorrow our secretary Keith Bradshaw, our head of cricket John Stephenson and other committee members will be having a meeting and one of the things they are going to be discussing is Kevin Pietersen's shot as the MCC have been asked to look at it by the ICC," a spokesperson said.
"The shot has generated quite a lot of interest but we won't be making any further comment until after that meeting on Tuesday."
Pietersen, though, defended his actions:
"Everybody wants brand new ideas, new inventions and new shots. That is a new shot played today and people should be saying it's a new way to go," he said.
"There are new things happening for cricket at the moment and people shouldn't be criticising it all the time."
His innings of 110 helped England secure a 114-run.