Thursday 6 December 2007 

McCullum To Captain New Zealand For Tour Opener

Brendon McCullum will captain a New Zealand side for the first time when a New Zealand XI takes on the Cricket Australia Chairman's XI in the tour-opening Lilac Hill festival match in Perth.

New Zealand are in Australia for the 2007/8 Commonwealth Bank Chappell Hadlee Trophy, and they will play a Twenty20 International and three one-day internationals. They won the series last year 3-0.

New Zealand XI: Brendon McCullum (c), Mark Gillespie, Gareth Hopkins, Jamie How, Chris Martin, Michael Mason, Iain O'Brien, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Mathew Sinclair, Scott Styris, Lou Vincent