Mishra Hat-Tricks Ends Kings XI Punjab's IPL Hopes

Mishra Hat-Tricks Ends Kings XI Punjab's IPL Hopes
Mishra Hat-Tricks Ends Kings XI Punjab's IPL Hopes
©REUTERS/Siphiwe Sibeko (SOUTH AFRICA SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Deccan Chargers 198-2 (Dhawan 95no) beat
Kings XI Punjab 116 (Gilchrist 51) by 82 runs
Indian Premier League 2011, Dharamsala

The Deccan Chargers beat the Kings XI Punjab by 82 runs as Adam Gilchrist's former team ended his current outfit's chances of further progression in the Indian Premier League.

The Kings XI needed to win a fifth straight game to give themselves a chance of reaching the play-offs but this proved to be one game too far as they were soundly beaten on the day.

Shikhar Dhawan hit a fluent unbeaten 95 and Dwaraka Ravi Teja thumped 60 as the Chargers piled up 198 for two in their innings.

Kings XI were then dismissed for 116, despite Gilchrist hitting 51, as leg-spinner Amit Mishra picked up figures of four for nine which included a hat-trick.

Dhawan faced juts 57 balls, hitting nine fours and a six while opening partner Ravi Teja faced 41 balls, hitting five fours and two sixes with the pair putting on 131 for the opening wicket.

JP Duminy was the other man to be dismissed when he was caught by Shaun Marsh off Ryan Harris for 12 before Dhawan closed just short of a century with captain Cameron White unbeaten on 15.

Chasing 199 was always going to be a tall order for a Kings XI side under pressure and Gilchrist aside, they crumbled as 2009 champions Chargers closed out a strong finish to their tournament.

They were 22 for two when key performers Paul Valthaty (5) and Marsh (13) and although Gilchrist played superbly, hitting six fours and two sixes in 37 balls, no other batsman could score more than 13 runs.

Mishra was on a hat-trick when he dismissed Ryan McLaren and Mandeep Singh in consecutive deliveries and he completed a second ODI hat-trick when Harris was caught by Dhawan from the first ball he faced.

He then bowled Praveen Kumar, also without scoring with his next-but-one delivery to clinch four wickets in five deliveries and put the seal on the Chargers' dominance.

The result confirms that the play-offs will now be contested between the Chennai Super Kings, the Kolkata Knight Riders, the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Mumbai Indians.

© Cricket World 2011