Mitchell Johnson Included In Australia ODI Squad

Mitchell Johnson Included In Australia ODI Squad
Mitchell Johnson Included In Australia ODI Squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia have included all-rounder Mitchell Johnson in their One-Day International squad which will tour England for five ODIs in June and July.

Johnson has been on the sidelines with a foot injury, undergoing surgery in December and is now poised to make a return to limited overs cricket, replacing Daniel Christian in the 15-man squad.

Also in the squad is all-rounder Steven Smith, who showed good form late on in Australia's domestic season and has also performed impressively during the Indian Premier League for the Pune Warriors.

Matthew Wade maintains his place behind the stumps and another player making a comeback from injury is pacer Patrick Cummins.

Meanwhile, the 'A' squad, which will tour for a series of matches in July and August, includes Tasmanian wicket-keeper Tim Paine and uncapped players Jackson Bird, Joe Burns, Tom Cooper, Ben Cutting, Liam Davis and Michael Klinger. It will be captained by Ed Cowan.

Johnson is included in the 'A' squad, along with Cummins, Smith and George Bailey.

"We will have to be at the top of our game to go to England and beat them on their home soil but we’ve selected a strong squad and believe we have the ability to win this one-day series," National Selector John Inverarity said.

"Steve Smith has been rewarded for his late season form. He has come into strong contention for the Australian ICC World Twenty20 squad to be named in August and the NSP is keen to have him in the set-up in England as the reserve batsman, noting that his leg-spinners would provide good variation to our attack.

"Mitchell Johnson has also been included in this ODI squad. He, also, is in strong contention for the ICC World Twenty20 and needs to be in the set-up and have some quality competitive cricket leading into this. The NSP is looking forward to Mitchell being reinvigorated after being out of the game for six months.

"We are also excited about the return of Pat Cummins and we are looking to ease him back into the team. He will not be expected to play in all of the eight scheduled games. 

"Peter Forrest, Mitchell Starc, Dan Christian, Nathan Lyon and Peter Nevill have not been included in this squad. During the Australian summer and in the West Indies, Peter Forrest and Mitchell Starc were two young players who grasped their opportunities and acquitted themselves well and enhanced their reputations. However, they have made way in this squad for Steve Smith and Pat Cummins.

"In February and March, Dan Christian showed what a very useful and good all-rounder he is, making some strong contributions. He has been omitted to make way for Mitchell Johnson, but remains very much in our plans for the ICC World Twenty20 and a distinct possibility for the ODIs and T20s against Pakistan in August/September.

"Nathan Lyon and Peter Nevill have not been included as Xavier Doherty has been preferred as the only spinner and Matthew Wade is the only 'keeper. It is a great deal easier getting replacements to England than to the West Indies and both Nathan and Peter will be on standby should they be required."

Australia squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Shane Watson (vice-captain), George Bailey, Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Steven Smith, Matthew Wade, David Warner

Australia 'A' squad: Ed Cowan (captain), Peter Forrest (vice-captain), George Bailey, Jackson Bird, Joe Burns, Tom Cooper, Patrick Cummins, Ben Cutting, Liam Davis, Jon Holland, Mitchell Johnson, Michael Klinger, Nathan Lyon, Tim Paine, James Pattinson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc

© Cricket World 2012