Muralitharan Picked For Sri Lanka's Tour Of Australia

Muralitharan Picked For Sri Lanka's Tour Of Australia
Muralitharan Picked For Sri Lanka's Tour Of Australia
©REUTERS/Siphiwe Sibeko (SOUTH AFRICA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Veteran off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan is set to tour Australia after he was named in Sri Lanka's limited overs squad ahead of three One-Day Internationals and a Twenty20 International.

The series begins later this month and the selectors have named a 16-man squad for the four matches, including injured all-rounder Angelo Mathews. He will have to prove his fitness, however, and Thilina Kandamby is on standby as his replacement should he miss out.

The other players named as reserves are spinners Rangana Herath and Ajantha Mendis and quick bowlers Thilan Thushara and Farveez Maharoof.

Off-spinner Suraj Randiv has been preferred to Herath and Mendis in the main squad.

The three One-Day Internationals, in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane on 3rd, 5th and 7th November, follow the Twenty20 match in Perth on 31st October.

Sri Lanka warm up with one-day matches against New South Wales and Queensland as well as a T20 game against New South Wales.

Sri Lanka squad: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Mahela Jayawardene (vice-captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Kapugedara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Jeewan Mendis, Muttiah Muralitharan, Dammika Prasad, Thisara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Chamara Silva, Upul Tharanga

Reserves: Rangana Herath, Thilina Kandamby, Farveez Maharoof, Ajantha Mendis, Thilan Thushara

© Cricket World 2010

Official Cricket Sri Lanka Website