Narine To Miss New Zealand Tests

Sunil Narine
Sunil Narine will miss the three-match Test series against New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sunil Narine will play for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League 2014 final and will not be considered for selection for the West Indies Test series against New Zealand.

Spinner Narine, a key player for the Knight Riders, has informed the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) that he will not be joining up with his team-mates on 1st June, instead playing against the Kings XI Punjab in Bangalore.

He had previously said he would be heading to Barbados ahead of the three-Test series that begins in Jamaica on 8th June.

The WICB have confirmed that his decision means he will not be available for selection for the entire Test series.

However, he will be considered for the two Twenty20 Internationals on 5th and 6th July.

"The onus of the WICB is to protect the integrity of international cricket at all times," WICB Director of Cricket Richard Pybus explained.

"International cricket, and specifically Test cricket, is priority and requires dedicated preparation which is integral to team success.

"The WICB policy requires players to commit to sufficient preparation leading in to a series as part of a culture of excellence,"

Left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn and off-spinner Shane Shillingford are the other two slow bowlers in the West Indies' training camp.

West Indies Test training squad: Denesh Ramdin (captain), Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Kirk Edwards, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Shane Shillingford, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor

Fixtures & Results
8th-12th June: 1st Test, Kingston, Jamaica
New Zealand 508-7 dec. & 156-8 dec. beat
West Indies 262 & 216 by 186 runs
16th-20th June: 2nd Test, Port of Spain, Trinidad
West Indies 460 & 95-0 (Gayle 80no) beat
New Zealand 221 & 331 by 10 wickets
26th-30th June: 3rd Test, Barbados
New Zealand 293 & 331-7 dec. beat
West Indies 317 & 254 (Holder 52) by 53 runs
5th July: 1st T20I, Roseau, Dominica
New Zealand 117-4 (McCullum 40) beat
West Indies 132-7 (Fletcher 52) by 12 runs (D/L)
6th July: 2nd T20I, Roseau, Dominica
West Indies 165-6 (Fletcher 62) beat
New Zealand 126 (Cottrell 3-28) by 39 runs