Netherlands Clinch Final Qualifying Spot

Michael Swart
Michael Swart helped the Netherlands qualify with an unbeaten 30 in 28 balls
©International Cricket Council

Netherlands 149-2 (Barresi 75no, Cooper 40) beat
Scotland 147-6 (Machan 61) by eight wickets
ICC WT20 2014 Qualifier Play-Off, Abu Dhabi

The Netherlands became the sixth and final team to clinch qualification for next year's ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh when they beat Scotland by eight wickets.

They missed out on qualifying one day ago when they were beaten by the United Arab Emirates by 10 runs but made no mistake when given their second chance, confidently chasing down a target of 148 with 2.1 overs to spare.

Scotland managed to post a competitive, and challenging score, despite only Matt Machan (61 in 53 balls) and Michael Leask (58 in 46) reaching double figures. The pair put on 111 together after they had lost two wickets with one run on the board.

Leask fell in the 16th over and Machan in the 18th, meaning Scotland perhaps finished short of where they would have liked.

As it turned out, they were well short of a score that would have stopped the Dutch from progressing.

Neil Carter struck early to remove Stephan Myburgh without scoring but the first of two match-winning partnerships followed for the Netherlands as Ben Cooper (40) and Wesley Barresi (75 not out) added 67 for the second wicket in less than seven overs.

When Cooper was stumped by Matthew Cross off Majid Haq, further breakthroughs were urgently required by the Scots but instead, Barresi, who hit eight fours and a six, put on an unbroken partnership of 80 for the third wicket with Michael Swart to hand the Netherlands victory.

They will join Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Nepal and the United Arab Emirates in the first stage of next year's ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh, where they will be placed in two groups alongside Bangladesh and Zimbabwe.

The two group winners will then progress to the two groups of five where the top eight Full Members have already been placed.

© Cricket World 2013

Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Nepal, Netherlands, UAE
Afghanistan v Hong Kong
Ireland v UAE

Group A
Canada, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Namibia, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United States of America

Group B
Afghanistan, Bermuda, Denmark, Kenya, Netherlands, Nepal, Papua New Guinea, Scotland