New Faces In Sri Lanka World T20 Squad

New Faces In Sri Lanka World T20 Squad
New Faces In Sri Lanka World T20 Squad
©REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanawatte. Picture Supplied by Action Images

Sri Lanka have named their final squads for the ICC World Twenty20, which begins in Hambantota next month. There are two surprising inclusions in the men’s squad, while Shashikala Siriwardene has been named as the captain of the women’s squad.

18 year-old Akila Dananjaya is one of those surprises among the 15 selected for the men’s tournament. He was picked in the 30-man preliminary squad, but has played just four matches in professional cricket - all of them in this season’s Sri Lanka Premier League. During those four matches, he has picked up seven wickets for his side Wayamba United, and had previously impressed captain Mahela Jayawardene when he faced him in the nets.

Dilshan Munaweera, an opening batsman, is the other uncapped player in the squad and was selected despite not being part of the 30-man preliminary squad. He is a hard-hitting opening batsman, but has not been in particularly strong form during the Sri Lanka Premier League so far, so his selection comes as even more of a surprise.

The two men to miss out are Upul Tharanga and Chamara Kapugedara, while Ajantha Mendis has been recalled following a prolonged absence due to a back injury. Kumar Sangakkara and Nuwan Kulasekara are both included among the 15 names, but their participation is dependent on them having recovered from injuries.

Men’s squad: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Angelo Mathew (vice-captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Akila Dhanajaya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Shaminda Eranga, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis, Jeevan Mendis, Dilshan Munaweera, Thisara Perera, Kumar Sangakkara (wicket-keeper), Lahiru Thirimanne. 

Women’s squad: Shashikala Siriwardene (captain), Chamari Atapattu, Sandamani Dolawatte, Inoka Galagedara, Ishani Lokusuriya, Dilanai Manodara, Udeshika Prabodini, Inoka Ranaweera, Deepika Rasangika, Maduri Samudrika, Chamani Seneviratna, Nilakshi Silva, Prasadani Weerakkody, Sripali Weerakkody. 

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.

ICC WT20 Final Video