New Zealand Name Two Newcomers In ICC WT20 Squad

New Zealand Name Two Newcomers In ICC WT20 Squad
New Zealand Name Two Newcomers In ICC WT20 Squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand have named their 30-man preliminary squad for the ICC World Twenty20, including uncapped players Anaru Kitchen and George Worker.

Kitchen is a left-arm spinner while Worker is a left-hand batsman and there is no place in the squad for powerful all-rounder Jesse Ryder.

Ryder remains out of the game having opted to take an indefinite break from the game although there had been some speculation that he might return for the Twenty20 tournament, which begins on 18th September.

As expected, former captain Daniel Vettori was selected having announced his availability - despite retiring from limited overs internationals - earlier this year.

New Zealand play Pakistan and Bangladesh in the initial group stage.

"It’s a well-balanced squad with a number of proven performers, giving us plenty of options ahead of final squad selection," National Selector Kim Littlejohn said.

"With the exception of George Worker and Anaru Kitchen, who have both shown promise at domestic level, each member has international experience.

"From this large group we believe we can select a talented Twenty20 squad that will make a strong claim in Sri Lanka."

The squad will be reduced to 15 men by 18th August.

The Women's preliminary squad of 28 players was also announced as the White Ferns aim to go one better than in both 2009 and 2010, when they finished as runners-up to England and Australia respectively.

"The players who have made the preliminary squad are the best players available and deserve their inclusion," Littlejohn added.

"The group includes a lot of up and coming talent, as well as a number of experienced international players. The likes of Brooke Kirkbride, Felicity Leydon-Davis and Georgia Guy are all under 20 years old and are likely to have a big impact in the future.

"The return of Nicola Browne and Sophie Devine who both have experience on the big stage will also be of big benefit to the team."

New Zealand preliminary ICC WT20 squad: Ross Taylor (captain), Michael Bates, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Neil Broom, Dean Brownlie, Colin de Grandhomme, Andrew Ellis, Daniel Flynn, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Roneel Hira, Anaru Kitchen, Tom Latham, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Peter McGlashan, Andy McKay, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Tarun Nethula, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Tim Southee, Daniel Vettori, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson, Luke Woodcock, George Worker

New Zealand preliminary ICC Women's WT20 squad: Suzie Bates (captain), Victoria Abbott, Erin Bermingham, Janet Brehaut, Kate Broadmore, Nicola Browne, Rachel Candy, Sophie Devine, Natalie Dodd, Lucy Doolan, Maddy Green, Georgia Guy, Melinda Hodgson, Holly Huddleston, Meg Kendal, Brooke Kirkbride, Felicity Leydon-Davis, Frances Mackay, Sara McGlashan, Katey Martin, Morna Nielsen, Katie Perkins, Liz Perry, Anna Peterson, Rachel Priest, Sian Ruck, Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu

© Cricket World 2012

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.

ICC WT20 Final Video