New Zealand Retain Squad For Twenty20s

New Zealand
New Zealand will be hoping to benefit from consistency in selection against the West Indies
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand have introduced no new players to their squad for the brace of Twenty20 Internationals against the West Indies in Auckland and Wellington on 11th and 14th January.

From the 14-man squad that has put them 2-1 up in the five-match One-Day International series with a game to spare, Kyle Mills and Kane Wiliamson will be released to play domestic cricket in the only change.

It means that Jesse Ryder is likely to play his first Twenty20 International since February 2012 after he was recalled to the ODI squad, responding with a century in the first ODI in Queenstown.

Corey Anderson, who smashed a world record 36-ball century in the same game, is also included in the squad.

"We are keen to keep this group together but are mindful of the strong performances from a number of other players including Hamish Rutherford, and Anton Devcich," New Zealand Cricket's (NZC) Bruce Edgar said.

"We are fortunate to be in a position to have a range of quality players to choose from," he added.

New Zealand Twenty20 International squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

© Cricket World 2014

Fixtures & Results

3rd-7th December: 1st Test, Dunedin
NZL 609-9 dec. & 79-4 drew with WIN 213 & 507
11th-15th December: 2nd Test, Wellington
NZL 441 beat WIN 193 & 175 by an inns. & 73 runs
19th-23rd December: 3rd Test, Hamilton
NZL 349 & 124-2 beat WIN 367 & 104 by 8 wickets
26th December: 1st ODI, Auckland
WIN beat NZL by 2 wickets
29th December: 2nd ODI, Napier
Match abandoned - rain
1st January: 3rd ODI, Queenstown
NZL 283-4 beat WIN 124-5 by 159 runs
4th January: 4th ODI, Nelson
NZL 285-6 beat WIN 134-5 by 59 runs (D/L)
8th January: 5th ODI, Hamilton
WIN 363-4 beat NZL 160 by 203 runs
11th January: 1st T20I, Auckland
NZL 189-5 beat WIN 108-8 by 81 runs
15th January: 2nd T20I, Wellington
NZL 163-6 beat WIN 159-5 by 4 wickets