Monday 16 January 2012 

No Place For Yuvraj Or Harbhajan In India ODI Squad

No Place For Yuvraj Or Harbhajan In India ODI Squad
No Place For Yuvraj Or Harbhajan In India ODI Squad
© REUTERS / Action Images

India have named a 17-man squad for the two Twenty20 Internationals and One-Day International tri-series in Australia in February and March.

They play two T20s against Australia before Sri Lanka are also involved in the tri-series and the squad sees all-rounder Irfan Pathan set to tour for the first time in more than two years.

Pathan last toured with India in 2009 and while he returns, there is no place in the squad for either Yuvraj or Harbhajan Singh.

Yuvraj has been left out following his recovery from the effects of a non-malignant lung tumour while Harbhajan remains out of favour with Ravichandran Ashwin and Rahul Sharma preferred as the specialist spin bowlers.

Batsman Sachin Tendulkar and fast bowler Zaheer Khan return to the squad having missed the recent series against the West Indies.

The two Twenty20s take place in Sydney and Melbourne on 1st and 3rd February while the ODI series gets underway on 5th February when India meet Australia in Melbourne and will conclude on either 5th or 8th March.

India ODI/T20I squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Manoj Tiwary, Parthiv Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Irfan Pathan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Praveen Kumar, Ranganath Vinay Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Zaheer Khan

© Cricket World 2012