No Pollard For West Indian Title Defence

Kieron Pollard
Kieron Pollard misses the ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh as he continues to recover from a knee injury
©REUTERS / Action Images

All-rounder Kieron Pollard and fast bowler Kemar Roach will miss the West Indies' defence of the ICC World Twenty20 after being left out of the 15-man squad due to injury.

With Pollard, who played every game of the successful campaign in 2012, absent, the West Indies will be relying on all-round contributions from captain Darren Sammy, the experience of Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels and Dwayne Smith as well as the powerful Andre Russell.

While Roach has not played a Twenty20 International since December 2012, he would have been in contention and his absence means Ravi Rampaul and Sheldon Cottrell are the only specialist quick bowlers selected.

Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine and Krishmar Santokie provide slow-bowling options with Denesh Ramdin expected to take the gloves, although Johnson Charles and Lendl Simmons have kept in the past.

The West Indies capped a memorable campaign with a 36-run win over Sri Lanka in the final less than two years ago.

This time around, they take on India (23rd March), a qualifier (25th March), Australia (28th March) and Pakistan (1st April) before hoping to take their place in the semi-finals on 3rd or 4th April.

The addition of Charles and Cottrell are the only changes to the 13-man squad named to play Ireland in two Twenty20 Internationals, the first of which is tomorrow (19th February).

West Indies ICC World Twenty20 squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith

© Cricket World 2014