Tuesday 13 July 2010 

Pakistan Bowl First In Landmark Neutral Test

Pakistan Bowl First In Landmark Neutral Test
Pakistan Bowl First In Landmark Neutral Test
© REUTERS/Stefan Wermuth (BRITAIN - Tags: SPORT CRICKET ENVIRONMENT) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Pakistan v Australia
First Test, Lord's

Pakistan won the toss and opted to bowl first against Australia after cloudy skies and overnight rain delayed the start of the first neutral Test to be held in England since 1912.

Lord's is hosting the opening match in a two-match series and both sides handed debuts to two players - Pakistan batsmen Umar Amin and Azhar Ali getting the nod while Australia have drafted in wicket-keeper Tim Paine and leg-spinner Steve Smith to cover for injuries.

There was therefore no place in the Pakistan line-up for experienced all-rounder Shoaib Malik while Shahid Afridi captains the team as he plays his first Test for four years having recently come out of retirement to lead the side.

Australia: Shane Watson, Simon Katich, Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke, Michael Hussey, Marcus North, Tim Paine (wicket-keeper), Steve Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Ben Hilfenhaus, Doug Bollinger

Pakistan: Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Umar Amin, Azhar Ali, Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal (wicket-keeper), Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Aamer, Umar Gul, Danish Kaneria, Mohammad Asif

© Cricket World 2010

More from Cricket World

Mathew Wade's Spectacular Run-Out