Wednesday 12 January 2011 

Pakistan Name ODI Squad For New Zealand Series

Pakistan Name ODI Squad For New Zealand Series
Pakistan Name ODI Squad For New Zealand Series
© Action Images / Paul Harding Livepic

Pakistan have named a 16-man squad for the six-match One-Day International series in New Zealand, recalling wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal and appointing Misbah-ul-Haq as Shahid Afridi's vice-captain.

Misbah has enjoyed an excellent run of form with the bat since being made Test captain and led the side to a convincing ten-wicket win in the opening Test match in Hamilton.

Akmal has not played for Pakistan since September 2010 against England, since when he was first ruled out by injury and then dropped as Zulqarnain Haider and brothers Umar and Adnan Akmal took over the gloves.

There is still no place in the squad for experienced batsman Mohammad Yousuf, however, who like Akmal has been out of the side due to injury.

Off-spinner Saeed Ajmal, who missed the first Test following the death of his father, is also named in the squad, which contains five fast bowlers as well as all-rounder Abdul Razzaq.

The first of the six matches is in Wellington on 22nd January.

Pakistan ODI squad: Shahid Afridi (captain), Misbah-ul-Haq (vice-captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal, Younus Khan, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Abdur Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz, Tanvir Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir

© Cricket World 2011