Ponting Dropped As Watson Returns To Australia ODI Squad

Ponting Dropped As Watson Returns To Australia ODI Squad
Ponting Dropped As Watson Returns To Australia ODI Squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

Ricky Ponting has been dropped from Australia's One-Day International squad for the next Commonwealth Bank series matches to make way for the return of Michael Clarke and Shane Watson.

Clarke is fit again after a hamstring injury ruled him out ot the previous two matches and Watson is back in action for the first time since the tour of South Africa in late 2011.

With Peter Forrest, David Hussey and Michael Hussey all scoring runs in the middle order, the selectors have been left with little option but to leave Ponting out of the side, despite the fact that he captained the team in Clarke's absence.

"Ricky Ponting has been dropped from the squad due to his lack of form in the five Commonwealth Bank Series matches to date in this series," National Selector John Inverarity said.

"The team will not seem the same without him, but moving on from the omission of players who have been outstanding over a long period of time is the nature of elite sport.

"Ricky’s record speaks for itself. He is one of the truly great performers in the history of Australian ODI cricket, with his reputation enhanced further by him captaining Australia to two World Cup victories.

"Ricky’s contribution goes far beyond his batting statistics and his brilliant fielding. The example he sets in every respect and his extraordinarily positive influence in the dressing-room is acknowledged by all. He is held in the highest possible regard by his team-mates and there is no higher accolade than this."

Also back in the squad is fast bowler Ryan Harris, who replaces Mitchell Starc as the selection panel continues to rotate their bowlers and with Matthew Wade's continued inclusion over Brad Haddin, Inverarity confirmed that the Victorian is now their preferred choice in limited overs cricket - Haddin having retired from Twenty20 Internationals.

"The NSP made the decision that Matthew Wade is now the preferred ODI wicket-keeper for the Australian ODI team. The intention at this stage is to have both Matthew and Brad Haddin in the West Indies together for the duration of the tour," he said.

Australia ODI squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Shane Watson (vice-captain), Daniel Christian, Xavier Doherty, Peter Forrest, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Brett Lee, Clint McKay, Matthew Wade, David Warner

© Cricket World 2012