Preview - Australia-New Zealand - Black Caps Favourites?

Preview – Australia-New Zealand – Black Caps Favourites?
Preview – Australia-New Zealand – Black Caps Favourites?
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia v New Zealand
ICC Champions Trophy 2013 Group A
Edgbaston, 12th June

Preview by Amy Nicholson

After a loss in their opening fixture, Australia will have to pull together when they take on a confident New Zealand side in their second group game of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 on Wednesday (12th June).

Australia proved to be no match for England as they suffered a 48-run defeat in the opener on Saturday (8th June). A confident New Zealand started their campaign with a win, beating Sri Lanka by one wicket at Cardiff on Sunday (9th June).

The 2000 winners came into the tournament after a 2-1 series win over England. The Black Caps' will be looking to carry on their form when they clash with neighbours Australia.

New Zealand will be without all-rounder Grant Elliott, after he suffered a tight calf injury in this afternoon's training session (11th June).

Australia are without captain Michael Clarke, who is ruled out for the second game due to a long-standing lower back injury.

Stand-in skipper George Bailey will be looking to lead from the front as he did against England.

"We need to get the balance right, we need to get partnerships going, that needs to be addressed. We have to turn around things," Bailey said after their loss to England.

Australia: George Bailey (captain), Shane Watson, David Warner, Phil Hughes, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), Adam Voges, Mitchell Marsh, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Glenn Maxwell, Michael Clarke.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), Doug Bracewell, Ian Butler, Grant Elliott, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Colin Munro, Luke Ronchi (wicketkeeper), Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, Kane Williamson.

© Cricket World 2013


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia