Preview - England-Sri Lanka - A Win Is Vital

Preview - England-Sri Lanka - A Win Is Vital
Preview - England-Sri Lanka - A Win Is Vital
©REUTERS / Action Images

England v Sri Lanka
ICC Champions Trophy, Group A
14th June, The Oval, 12:00 GMT

Preview by Amy Nicholson

England will be eyeing up a semi-final place in their second ICC Champions Trophy 2013 group game against Sri Lanka tomorrow. 

But for Sri Lanka it will be a battle for survival after losing their first game.

The two teams have made contrasting starts to their campaign in the event, which is being played for the last time. 

England beat defending champions Australia by 48 runs, whereas Sri Lanka lost by a wicket to New Zealand in a low-scoring game.

England's batsmen seemed at ease with the conditions on Saturday (8th June) in their confidence boosting opener. Ian Bell missed a hundred by nine runs while Jonathan Trott and Ravi Bopara got near half-century scores against Australia. 

While Sri Lanka's batsmen flopped against New Zealand, eight of them failed to touch the double-digit mark with three of them falling for ducks. Former captain Kumar Sangakkara was the only batsman who put up a fight with 68 runs and he'll be expected to anchor their innings against England tomorrow. 

A victory for Sri Lanka is vital for them to remain alive in the tournament

England: Alastair Cook (captain), Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, James Tredwell, Steven Finn, Chris Woakes, James Anderson, Graeme Swann. 

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal (wicketkeeper), Dilhara Lokuhettige, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Shaminda Eranga, Rangana Herath, Mahela Jayawardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Jeevan Mendis, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Kumar Sangakkara (wicketkeeper), Sachithra Senanayake and Lahiru Thirimanne.

© Cricket World 2013


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia