West Indies wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin has been found guilty of conduct contrary to the spirit of the game and has been fined and banned after he claimed a catch that wasn't cleanly taken against Pakistan in the Champions Trophy 2013.
He pleaded not guilty to the charge at an International Cricket Council (ICC) hearing but was nevertheless found guilty of a Level Two breach of the ICC Code of Conduct.
He has been fined 100 percent of his applicable match fee and banned for two ODIs.
The incident occurred at the end of the ninth over of Pakistan's innings when Misbah-ul-Haq edged the ball through to him and despite appearing to clearly drop the ball on to the floor, Ramdin gathered it up and appealed.
It was not until the decision was referred to the third umpire that the batsman was confirmed as not out.
The charge was laid the match officials Tony Hill, Steve Davis, Richard Kettleborough and Nigel Llong while ICC match referee Chris Broad adjudicated at the hearing.
"This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game," Broad said.
"I hope Mr Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future."
© Cricket World 2013