Ryder And Southee In New Zealand Test Squad

Ryder And Southee In New Zealand Test Squad
Ryder And Southee In New Zealand Test Squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand have recalled fit-again pair Tim Southee and Jesse Ryder to a 13-man squad ahead of the two-Test tour to Australia.

Southee and Ryder both missed the one-off Test in Zimbabwe - which New Zealand won by 34 runs - and return ahead of the opening Test in Brisbane, which gets underway on 1st December.

Uncapped quick bowler Trent Boult has also been handed a call-up while there are no other changes from the team that beat Zimbabwe in Bulawayo.

Northern Districts left-armer Boult, 22, was awarded a central contract for the 2011-12 season and BJ Watling will play for the  Northern Districts instead of being available for the Australia A warm-up game ahead of the series.

"We were keen to show consistency in selection for the tour of Australia and retain the nucleus of the side that performed well against Zimbabwe," National Selector Manager Ken Littlejohn said.

"In choosing our squad we decided to go with 13 players and will consider adding another seamer before the first Test.  That will largely depend on how the players pull up after the warm-up match.

"It is pleasing to provide Trent with an opportunity.  He is a promising young bowler and deserves his place in the squad after impressing at the NZC Fast Bowling Camp during the winter and making a strong start to the Plunket Shield.

"We have decided to allow BJ Watling to play in the third round of Plunket Shield to give him maximum game time. We did not plan on selecting him for the warm-up match against Australia A and feel it is more beneficial to keep him playing cricket.

"The side for the first-class warm-up fixture against Australia A will be chosen from the remaining 12 players."

Southee missed the Zimbabwe Test with a knee injury while Ryder was ruled out with a calf problem.

New Zealand play Australia in Brisbane from 1st December and then Hobart from 8th December.

New Zealand Test squad: Ross Taylor (captain), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Daniel Vettori, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson, Reece Young

© Cricket World 2011