Friday 14 December 2012 

Sarwan Replaces Hoggard As Leicestershire Skipper

Sarwan Replaces Hoggard As Leicestershire Skipper
Sarwan Replaces Hoggard As Leicestershire Skipper
© Action Images / Andrew Couldridge

Leicestershire seam bowler Matthew Hoggard has relinquished the club captaincy for the 2013 season, with Ramnaresh Sarwan taking over leadership of the Championship team and Josh Cobb continuing to lead the limited-overs sides. Cobb will also be Sarwan’s four-day deputy.

2013 is likely to be the last season of Hoggard’s long and distinguished career as he missed large chunks of last season for a variety of reasons and is entering the final year of his contract at Grace Road. He took only 24 Championship wickets in 2012 as Leicestershire narrowly avoided the wooden spoon, but will be able to reflect on his three-year stint as Leicestershire’s captain will pride. The highlight of his rein was undoubtedly when he led a young and unfancied side to the Friends Life t20 title in 2011.

Hoggard, who moved to Leicestershire for the 2010 season after being released by Yorkshire, said, “I have enjoyed being captain over the past three years but I feel that it is the right time to hand over the reins.”

Chief Executive Mike Siddall paid tribute, saying, “The club wishes to acknowledge the contribution Matthew has made as captain over the past three seasons, leading the team to a fantastic third t20 trophy win last year. We now have the opportunity to put a succession plan in place for the future.”

Head Coach Phil Whitticase added, “I’ve really enjoyed working with Matthew over the past three years, especially during our successful t20 campaign. It is important for everyone to get behind Ronnie as we look to take the club forward.”

Sarwan signed a two-year contract extension earlier this year, meaning that he will remain with the club until at least the end of the 2014 season. 


In other news, Durham chief executive David Harker has stepped down in order to pursue a private business venture. He will continue to have a role at the club as a non-executive director.


Meanwhile, Hampshire players Jimmy Adams, Liam Dawson, Chris Wood and James Tomlinson have all agreed contract extensions. Adams, Dawson and Wood have agreed terms until the end of 2015 while Tomlinson will stay until the end of 2014. Assistant coach Craig White has also agreed to stay on until the end of 2014.

© Cricket World 2012




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.