Seventh Title In A Row For York

York have been crowned champions for the seventh successive season
©Cricket World

York have won the Yorkshire ECB League championship for the seventh season in a row. With two matches to play they lead the table by 19 points and cannot be caught.

Yorkshire second team all-rounder Jack Leaning produced a fine performance as York made sure of the title with a 193-run win over Cleethorpes.

Leaning made 120, including one six and 10 fours, sharing an unbroken fourth-wicket stand of 191 with Alex Collins, whose 100 contained five sixes and six fours. Leaning’s fellow opener Duncan Snell struck 54 in their opening stand of 91 to lay the foundations for York’s total of 325 for three, the fifth time they have topped the 300 mark this season. Cleethorpes were then dismissed for 132 with Leaning taking four for 31 with his off-spin.

The Yorkshire Academy, who will finish second, beat Sheffield Collegiate at home by eight wickets with Karl Carver taking three for 27 as Collegiate were bowled out for 180 before Jonathan Tattersall led them to victory with 76 not out.

Third-placed Harrogate beat ten-man Hull by two wickets after bowling out their opponents for 199 with opener Peter Shally top scoring with 75 as Hugo Patterson took five for 19 in seven overs. Dave Barrick hit back for Hull, taking six for 85, but half-century makers George Ross with 62 and Andy Hawkswell (53 not out) saw Harrogate home.

Abid Ali and Nick Hardgrave shared an unbroken partnership of 147 in Driffield’s nine-wicket win at Castleford, Ali scoring 91 and Hardgrave 80. Castleford made 215 for five with skipper Dominic Sharp top scoring with 77, but that total proved to be no test for Driffield thanks to Ali and Hardgrave.    

Spinners Ali Jahangir (3-3) and Tom Craddock (3-27) each took three wickets as Barnsley beat visitors Appleby Frodingham by 120 runs. Captain Steve Nuttall led the way with 89 while Jahangir scored 33 and Jason Booth 27 in Barnsley’s total of 227 for seven before they bowled out Frodingham for 107.

Brothers Gareth and Chris Purshouse were leading scorers in Rotherham’s six-wicket win at Sheffield United, Gareth scoring 52 and Chris 44 as the visitors overcame United’s total of 184 for nine.

Doncaster beat Scarborough by nine wickets after bowling out the visitors for 104, left-arm spinner Oliver Jackson taking five for 42.

© Cricket World 2013