Shakib Al Hasan Ruled Out Of Sri Lanka Tour

Shakib Al Hasan Ruled Out Of Sri Lanka Tour
Shakib Al Hasan Ruled Out Of Sri Lanka Tour
©REUTERS/Philip Brown. Picture Supplied by Action Images

Bangladesh have been dealt a blow ahead of next month’s tour of Sri Lanka with the news that all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will miss all six internationals in order to have surgery on his right calf muscle.

"Shakib will be out of action for at least six weeks after the surgery," Dr Debashish Chowdhury, BCB’s chief medical officer, said. "BCB has granted him permission to undergo the surgery. BCB president Nazmul Hasan agreed to release him as per the advice of the specialist in Australia."

Shakib first complained of pain in his shin during the Test series in the West Indies last year, but recovered sufficiently to play the majority of matches for eventual champions Dhaka Gladiators in the recently concluded Bangladesh Premier League. However, towards the end of that tournament he admitted that his movement was becoming restricted and he was sent to Australia to see a specialist in lower limb injuries, Dr. Scott Barnes. He advised surgery to reduce stiffness in the affected area. Shakib will then have a period of rest to recover from this and the other injuries which, according to Chowdhury, he is suffering from.

"Apart from the exertional compartmental syndrome for which he is undergoing surgery, Shakib has sustained tenoperiostitis [shin splints] and stress reaction on his tibia," he said. "To heal the other two complications, he will need rest, physiotherapy, a rehabilitation programme and biomechanical correction." 

Shakib is expected to do the biomechanical correction test tomorrow, but, besides the tour to Sri Lanka, his injury could cause him to miss April’s tour to Zimbabwe.

Bangladesh preliminary Test squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Mahmudullah, Tamim Iqbal, Nasir Hossain, Elias Sunny, Ziaur Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abul Hasan, Jahurul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Anamul Haque, Abdur Razzak, Rubel Hossain, Mominul Haque, Shahriar Nafees, Shahadat Hossain, Nazmul Hossain, Robiul Islam, Sohag Gazi, Naeem Islam, Enamul Haque jr., Shamsur Rahman, Sabbir Rahman, Marshall Ayub.

© Cricket World 2013




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.