South Africa Call Up Uncapped Morris, du Plessis For Tri-Nations

	South Africa Call Up Uncapped Morris, du Plessis For Tri-Nations
South Africa Call Up Uncapped Morris, du Plessis For Tri-Nations
©REUTERS / Action Images

South Africa have called up uncapped Highveld Lions all-rounder Chris Morris ahead of the tri-nations Twenty20 International tournament in Zimbabwe in June.

Four senior players have been rested while Francois du Plessis is the other uncapped player in the squad.

Regular captain AB de Villiers, Jacques Kallis, Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel are rested and Johan Botha will lead the side.

"The four players concerned have turned out in virtually all their games for their franchises during the Indian Premier League (IPL)," Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener Andrew Hudson said.

"In addition they are involved in all three international formats for the Proteas and this is the last chance to rest them until the end of the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka in September and October.

"Du Plessis has been a stand-out performer for the Chennai Super Kings at the IPL and well deserves his T20 call-up. He has given us exciting, extra options by demonstrating his ability both at the top of the order and in the middle-order.

"Morris' selection continues our policy of creating international opportunities for those who perform outstandingly well at franchise level and this certainly applies in his case.

"He was the leading wicket-taker in the MiWay T20 Challenge (21 wickets at 12.6 with an economy rate of 6.8) and was also very effective as a lower order hitter with a batting strike rate of 200. He played a very significant role in getting the Lions to the final and this included stand-out bowling performances in the two league victories over the Nashua Titans – the eventual champions.

"We are also giving further opportunities to both Farhaan Behardien of the Nashua Titans and Dane Vilas of the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras who made their international debuts in the New Age Friendship Cup T20 International against India at the end of last season."

The competition runs from 18th to 24th June and the Proteas will take on Zimbabwe and Bangladesh.

South Africa Twenty20 International squad: Johan Botha (captain), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Marchant de Lange, JP Duminy, Francois du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Chris Morris, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Dane Vilas

© Cricket World 2012