South Africa Pick Tahir And Van Wyk For World Cup

South Africa Pick Tahir And Van Wyk For World Cup
South Africa Pick Tahir And Van Wyk For World Cup
©REUTERS/Mike Hutchings (SOUTH AFRICA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

South Africa have named their 15-man World Cup squad with lmran Tahir the only uncapped member of the squad, which also includes Francois du Plessis and Morne van Wyk.

Du Plessis scored 60 making his One-Day International debut against India and van Wyk provides wicket-keeping cover for AB de Villiers.

Pakistan-born Tahir qualified to play for South Africa on 31st December 2010 and although he was named in the Proteas' squad to play India, he has yet to feature but will almost certainly feature in Asia, where the World Cup is held.

Returning to the squad following his rib injury is key all-rounder Jacques Kallis as one of four players - along with Graeme Smith, AB de Villiers and Robin Peterseon - who helped South Africa reach the semi-finals in 2007.

"The squad consists of seven specialist batsmen, three specialist spin bowlers and four specialist seamers with Morne van Wyk providing wicketkeeping cover as well as an extra top order batting option,” selection convener Andrew Hudson said.

“In addition, Kallis provides an additional seam bowling option as do Du Plessis and JP Duminy in the spin bowling department.

“CSA’s  Medical Committee are happy with Kallis’ progress and he will be ready to play a full role with both bat and ball from the start of the tournament.

“I am very happy with Faf du Plessis’ debut and form. He gives us a leg spinning option as well and is an outstanding fielder.

“The selection of three specialist spin bowlers is essential for the conditions we expect to encounter at the World Cup and it is not a worry that Tahir has not played an ODI yet. The conditions in South Africa have been more suited to seam bowling and his record in domestic cricket both in South Africa and England speaks for itself. We know exactly what he offers us.”

South Africa World Cup squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Hashim Amla, Johan Botha, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Francois du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Morne van Wyk

© Cricket World 2011

YouTube Button