Sri Lanka Name Squads For Pakistan Games

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka have named a settled squad for the limited overs games against Pakistan
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lanka have named their Twenty20 and One-Day International squads to play Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates in December.

Left-arm spinner Rangana Herath has been rested for the two Twenty20 Internationals that begin the tour while Mahela Jayawardene will not travel for the limited overs matches due to personal reasons.

With Jayawardene absent, batsman Kithuruwan Vithanage, who has played two Tests for Sri Lanka but no limited overs matches, is called in to both squads.

Leg-spinner Seekkuge Prasanna replaces Ajantha Mendis in the ODI squad which aside from Vithanage coming in for Jayawardene, is unchanged from the one which ended the recent series against New Zealand.

Sri Lanka play Pakistan in a series of two Twenty20s, five ODIs and three Tests between 11th December and 20th January in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah.

The series begins with the two Twenty20s in Dubai on 11th and 13th December before the ODIs, hosted by all three venues, are held between 18th and 27th December.

The Test series begins in Dubai on 31st December before moving on to Abu Dhabi (8th-12th January) and Sharjah (16th-20th January).

Sri Lanka T20I squad: Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Lasith Malinga (vice-captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Kushal Perera, Thisara Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Ramith Rambukwella, Kumar Sangakkara, Sachithra Senanayake, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kithuruwan Vithanage

Sri Lanka ODI squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal (vice-captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Dimuth Karunaratne, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Kushal Perera, Thisara Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Ashan Priyanjan, Kumar Sangakkara, Sachithra Senanayake, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kithuruwan Vithanage

Fixtures & Results

8th December: Pakistan v Afghanistan, Sharjah
PAK 138-4 beat AFG 137-8 by 6 wickets
11th December: 1st T20I, Dubai
PAK 146-7 beat SRI 145-5 by 3 wickets
13th December: 2nd T20I, Dubai
SRI 211-3 beat PAK 187 by 24 runs
18th December: 1st ODI, Sharjah
PAK 322-5 beat SRI 311 by 11 runs
20th December: 2nd ODI, Dubai
SRI 287-8 beat PAK 284-4 by 2 wickets
22nd December: 3rd ODI, Sharjah
PAK 326-5 beat SRI 213 by 113 runs
25th December: 4th ODI, Abu Dhabi
PAK beat SRI by 8 wickets
27th December: 5th ODI, Abu Dhabi
SRI 235-8 beat PAK 232 by 2 wickets
31st December-4th January: 1st Test, Abu Dhabi
SRI 204 & 480-5d. drew with PAK 383 & 158-2
8th-12th January: 2nd Test, Dubai
SRI 388 & 137-1 beat PAK 165 & 359 by 9 wickets
16th-20th January: 3rd Test, Sharjah
PAk 341 & 302-5 beat SRI 428-9d. & 214 by 5 wicket