Sri Lanka Stun England, Wins For Australia, New Zealand

Sri Lanka Stun England, Wins For Australia, New Zealand
Sri Lanka Stun England, Wins For Australia, New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

Sri Lanka Women 244-9 (Jayangani 62) beat
England Women 238-8 by one wicket
ICC Women's World Cup, Mumbai

World Cup upsets don't come much bigger than this. Tournament outsiders Sri Lanka should have been no match for reigning champions England but won a thriller in Mumbai by one wicket, wicket-keeper Dilani Manodara hitting the last ball for six.

England posted a competitive, but reachable 238 for eight after Jenny Gunn's 52 had helped them recover from a shaky start but Sri Lanka, through Chamari Atapttu's 62, quickly got in terms before their lower order applied the finishing touches to their first ever win over England.

Australia Women 175 (Haynes 39) beat
Pakistan Women 84 by 91 runs
Women's World Cup, Cuttack

Australia were made to work hard for their 91-run win over Pakistan, prevailing despite only managing to hit 175 in their innings.

Rachael Haynes top scored with 39 and Sarah Coyte made a highly valuable unbeaten 35 before taking three for 20 to spare Australia's blushes.

Sadia Yousuf had earlier taken three for 30 and Bismah Maroof easily top scored for Pakistan with 43.

New Zealand Women 320-5 (Devine 147) beat
South Africa Women 170 by 150 runs
Women's World Cup, Cuttack

The most dominant performance of the day came from New Zealand, who thrashed South Africa by 150 runs.

Sophie Devine hammered a brilliant 145 in 131 balls and Suzie Bates made 72 as the White Ferns posted 320 for five.

South Africa were then dismissed for 170 in 41 overs as Sian Ruck returned four for 31, Morna Nielsen three for 34 and Lea Tahuhu two for 27.

© Cricket World 2013

Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.


WWC 2013 Groups

Group A: England, India, Sri Lanka, West Indies
Group B: Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
Super Six: West Indies, Australia 8 points, England 6 points, New Zealand 4 points, South Africa, Sri Lanka 2 points
Full Fixtures, Stats & Tables