Starc Replaces Injured Pattinson For Third Test

Starc Replaces Injured Pattinson For Third Test
Starc Replaces Injured Pattinson For Third Test
©REUTERS / Action Images

Australia have made one change to their squad ahead of the third Test against India in Perth, replacing fast bowler James Pattinson with Mitchell Starc.

Starc comes into the 12-man squad after Pattinson was ruled out of the match, which begins on 13th January, with a foot injury.

Pattinson suffered the injury during Australia's innings-and-68-run win in the second Test although he was due to be rested for the game, as National Selector John Inverarity explained:

"The intention of the National Selection Panel was to rest James from the Perth Vodafone Test match as this young man has played in four Test matches over a period of just five weeks.

"This intention has become a necessity after post match scans have revealed James’ foot injury. The magnificent victory at the SCG has given Michael Clarke's team considerable momentum and captured the imagination of the cricketing public of Australia."

Ryan Harris is the other player in the squad who did not play at the S.C.G. Pattinson joins Mitchell Johnson, Shane Watson, Tim Paine and Patrick Cummins on Australia's injury list and he will play no further part in the Test series.

"James Pattinson reported some left foot pain after the second innings of the Sydney Test match," Cricket Australia physiotherapist Alex Kountouris said.

"Whilst he was able to bowl unrestricted in the game he did have pain towards the end of the match. As such, he had x-rays and scans after the game that have cleared him of a stress fracture but have demonstrated early stage bone stress injury of the metatarsal bone of the left foot.

"He will be managed carefully over the next few weeks and will not be available for selection for the remainder of the Vodafone Test series against India."

Australia Test squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Brad Haddin (vice-captain), Ed Cowan, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, Michael Hussey, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, David Warner

© Cricket World 2012