Steyn Rested For Sri Lanka Tour

AB de Villiers drives expansively.
Steyn Rested For Sri Lanka Tour
©REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanwatte. Picture Supplied by Action Images

South Africa have made one change to their One-Day International squad for the forthcoming series against Sri Lanka. Quinton de Kock, who was a standby player for the Proteas during their disappointing ICC Champions Trophy campaign, is recalled, while Dale Steyn is, according to convenor of selectors Andrew Hudson, rested. Morne Morkel is included among the 16 players named despite missing the bulk of the Champions Trophy with a quad muscle strain.

"In spite of the disappointments of the Champions Trophy campaign we have decided to remain consistent with our selections as we have done in the past," Hudson said. "It has paid dividends with the Test squad and we are confident that we will get the same end results with the two limited-overs squads. 

"We are resting Dale Steyn as we have a very important and crowded Test season ahead of us, and we want to be absolutely certain that, as the leader of our attack, he is properly rested and fit. Graeme Smith obviously could not be considered because of his long-term recovery process following surgery."

The Twenty20 International squad has seen more change, with three players left out from South Africa’s last assignment against Pakistan in March. Justin Ontong and Kyle Abbott have both been relegated to the ‘A’ team squads which will host Australia A and India A, with the former named as captain. Imran Tahir is recalled and preferred to Robin Peterson, while Wayne Parnell and Morne Morkel return from injury and David Wiese is included.

Hudson said, "David Wiese impressed on the SA Emerging squad's tour to Namibia, having previously done well in the Champions League tournament, and we feel he is the sort of player who could make an explosive impact in the T20 squad. 

South Africa play five One-Day Internationals on their tour of Sri Lanka at Colombo’s R Premadasa Stadium, the first of which is on 20th July, and Pallekele. They then play three T20 Internationals at Colombo and Hambantota, with the tour concluding at the latter on 6th August.

South Africa have also added two new men to their coaching line-up. Adrian Birrell will be assistant coach, while recently retired left-arm spinner Claude Henderson has been given the spin bowling caocahing brief.

South Africa ODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Benhardien, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, Colin Ingram, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Aaron Phangiso, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

South Africa T20I squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Imran Tahir, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, David Wiese.

South Africa A squad for four-day matches: Justin Ontong (captain), Kyle Abbott, Temba Bavuma, Marchant de Lange, Dean Elgar, Ayabulela Gqamane, Simon Harmer, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Rilee Rossouw, Thami Tsolekile, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Stiaan van Zyl, Hardus Viljoen .

South Africa A squad for one-day matches: Justin Ontong (captain), Kyle Abbott, Temba Bavuma, Dean Elgar, Ayabulela Gqamane, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Richard Levi, Rilee Rossouw, Yaseen Vallie, Roelof van der Merwe, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Dane Vilas, Hardus Viljoen .

© Cricket World 2013

Related Articles


Suggested Topics

Fixtures & Results

20th July: 1st ODI, Colombo
SRI 320-5 beat RSA 140 by 180 runs
23rd July: 2nd ODI, Colombo
SRI 223-9 beat RSA 104-5 by 17 runs (D/L)
26th July: 3rd ODI, Pallekele
RSA 223-7 beat SRI 167 by 56 runs
28th July: 4th ODI, Pallekele
SRI 239-2 beat RSA 238 by 8 wickets
31st July: 5th ODI, Colombo
SRI 307-4 beat RSA 179 by 128 runs
2nd August: 1st T20I, Colombo
RSA 115-6 beat SRI 103-9 by 12 runs
4th August: 2nd T20I, Hambantota
RSA 145-6 beat SRI 123-7 by 22 runs
6th August: 3rd T20I, Hambantota
SRI 164-4 beat RSA 163-3 by 6 wickets