Swann Spins Out Whitewash-Chasing Australia

Swann Spins Out Whitewash-Chasing Australia
Swann Spins Out Whitewash-Chasing Australia
©Action Images / Ed Sykes Livepic

Australia 176 (Ponting 53, Swann 5-28) v England

Seventh One-Day International, Chester-le-Street

Graeme Swann's maiden One-Day International five-wicket haul spun England into a strong position in the seventh and final match against Australia at The Riverside.

Australia lead the series 6-0 and are chasing the first ever 7-0 ODI series win but two early strikes from opening bowlers James Anderson and Graham Onions and then six wickets to spinners Swann and Owais Shah put England in the ascendency as they bowled Australia out for 176.

Handed his ODI debut, Onions struck to have Tim Paine (4) caught by Matthew Prior, following up on the early dismissal of Shane Watson, who edged Anderson to Swann at slip without scoring in the first over.

Australia were rebuilding the innings nicely before the introduction of Swann changed things completely. Ricky Ponting scored his 68th ODI half-century in making 53 to put on 79 for the third wicket with Michael Clarke, who made 38 in 81 balls before he was run out, failing to steal a single from Eoin Morgan at short fine leg.

Swann struck early in his spell of five for 28 to have Ponting caught at mid on by Paul Collingwood and following the run out of Clarke, he bowled Cameron White, the Victorian going back to a delivery to which he should have playing forward.

James Hopes (11) and Mitchell Johnson (10) both miscued shots, offering easy catches for Swann and Anderson before Swann completed his five-wicket haul by clean bowling Brett Lee for a duck.

Spin continued to rule when Shah had Nathan Hauritz caught and bowled, the part-time spinner inducing Australia's full-time spinner to chip the ball straight back to him.

Mike Hussey attempted to finish the innings with a flourish, hammering Anderson for a four and six but his charge was foiled when he drilled Tim Bresnan to Joe Denly at mid off having made 49.

© Cricket World 2009